Hitting the "S" key from the main menu lets you enter the name of the disk image you want saved at the host:
By convention, there is a correlation between the filename suffix of a diskette image and the "order" in which the bits are stored; something that is really only of consequence to emulators. Points to remember:
After hitting Return to specify the file name, ADTPro will present you with a screen to pick a "volume" (a slot/drive combination) to read. The slot and drive numbers are the first two columns; if the volume happens to be formatted with ProDOS, its name will appear in the Volume Name column. You can use the arrow keys or the space bar to pick the volume to be sent to the host:
The "Blocks" column is the count of ProDOS blocks present on the disk. Each block contains 512 bytes of data. Typical disk sizes are:
|127||64k RAM disk (128k Apples)|
|280||5-1/4" Floppy disk (140k) (Note: these are saved in DOS order at the host)|
|1600||3-1/2" Floppy disk (800k)|
|65535||32MB Hard drive|
Some messages may appear in the "Volume name" column to indicate various situations:
|<NO NAME>||A DOS 3.3 disk is in the drive (which is ok)|
|<I/O ERROR>||Can't read the disk in the drive, or the drive is empty|
Once you pick the volume to send, an attempt is made to contact the host:
Once contact is made with the host, the disk information starts reading and sending. The line across the screen represents a 20k buffer that is alternately filled and sent to the host:
When the image has finished sending to the host, you will see a "Complete" message:
Pressing any key brings you back to the main ADTPro menu.
If errors are encountered with reading blocks, you will see X characters instead of solid blocks:
If an image contains at least one "bad" block, an error message will appear both at the Apple and at the host end.
You can hit the Escape key at any time to stop the disk sending process and bring you back to the main ADTPro menu. Any time you abort a transmission, it is best to hit the "Disconnect" button on the server and re-connect by clicking on the button representing the connection type you are using.